Skip to main content

The Supervisory Board is the main governing body of Howest. This board sets the general guidelines for the organisation and coordination, determines the regulations and sets the budget.

As of 1 January 2024, Howest's Supervisory Board is composed as follows:


  • Lode De Geyter

Deputy president

  • Jan Durnez, Honorary member of the Flemish Parliament, Honorary mayor of Ieper

Managing director / Rector

  • Frederik D'hulster, rector

Representatives of the governmental and managerial bodies

  • Pablo Annys, Alderman, department of Social Services, Employment and Entrepreneurship, Brugge
  • Bart Caron, Honorary member of the Flemish Parliament
  • Johan De Neve, CEO Syntra West
  • Sybille De Vos, alderman, department of Education, Oudenaarde and staff member CLB GO!, Scholengroep Vlaamse Ardennen
  • Maaike De Vreese, member of the Flemish Parliament
  • Isabelle D'Hooghe, Coordinator HR & Legal Matters Concertgebouw Brugge
  • Els Kindt, member of the Provincial Council West-Vlaanderen and Alderman, department of Education Lichtervelde
  • Tammy Schellens, Associate professor department of Educational Studies UGent
  • Luc Van Holm, Honorary Labour Court judge Brugge
  • Piet Vandermersch, member of the Provincial Council West-Vlaanderen
  • Loes Vandromme, member of the Flemish Parliament and chair of the Education Association of Towns and Cities NPO

Staff representatives

  • Miet Craeynest, lecturer of Applied Psychology
  • Jochen Matthys, staff member Culture & Creativity – Art Director Howest – lecturer of Online & Offline Graphic Design
  • William Schokkelé, programme coordinator and lecturer of Programming
  • Tom Tesch, lecturer of Digital Arts & Entertainment
  • Charlotte Van Tuyckom, lecturer of Sports & Physical Activities
  • Marleen Vermeire, coordinator of the associate degrees

Student representatives

  • Alexander Debaere, student Business Management
  • Ash Delsael, student Devine
  • Daphne Deopere, student HR Support
  • Hermes Maes, student Journalism

Observer on behalf of the Public Authorities

  • Erik Maes, commissioner delegate for the Flemish government

Minute taker

  • Sarah Snoeck, secretary general Howest